OpenStack Community: Foundation Board Members Named

News from the OpenStack community includes the election of gold board members, voting for other board positions, and the upcoming conference in San Diego.

Colleen Miller

August 17, 2012

1 Min Read
Data Center Knowledge logo

As the OpenStack community evolves, the OpenStack Foundation, announced October 2011, continues to formalize itself in preparation for taking on the role of governance and shepherding of the open source cloud operating system projects. This week, the Gold Member companies of the OpenStack Foundation, completed their election of Board Members and announced the results.

The eight elected companies and the individuals that they intend to appoint to the board are listed alphabetically below:

  • Cisco – Lew Tucker

  • Cloudscaling – Randy Bias

  • Dell – John Igoe

  • Dreamhost – Simon Anderson

  • ITRI/CCAT – Dr. Tzi-cker Chiueh

  • Mirantis – Boris Renski

  • Piston – Joshua McKenty

  • Yahoo! – Sean Roberts

Next week, the community will vote for Individual Member Directors. For more info, visit OpenStack's website.

Started by Rackspace and NASA in 2010, OpenStack is open source software for building clouds. Created to drive industry standards, eliminate cloud lock-in and accelerate cloud adoption, OpenStack is a common, open platform for both public and private clouds.

In other news, the community announced that OpenStack Summit will convene October 15-18 in San Diego, Calif. at the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego. The four-day conference has multiple purposes, designed for developers, users, and administrators of OpenStack Cloud Software. Early registration ends August 31.

Subscribe to the Data Center Knowledge Newsletter
Get analysis and expert insight on the latest in data center business and technology delivered to your inbox daily.

You May Also Like